Department of National Defence.—The Royal Canadian Corps of Signals operates, in addition to stations established for military purposes, 17 permanent stations and 2 summer stations situated along the Mackenzie River and in Yukon on behalf of the Bureau of Northwest Territories and Yukon Affairs, Department of Mines and Resources.

Department of Public Works.—Eleven stations are operated to provide emergency communication between the mainland and certain islands, and 9 stations to provide emergency links in existing landline circuits.

Department of Mines and Resources.—This Department operates 1 private commercial station at the Dominion Observatory for the transmission of time signals, 2 private commercial and 2 experimental stations in the National Parks of Canada, together with 6 other portable experimental stations.

Subsection 2.-Provincial Government Radio Stations.

British Columbia.—The Department of Lands operates 10 ship stations, 57 private commercial stations, and 1 experimental station in connection with forest fire protection services. Under the Attorney General's Department the provincial police operate 4 ship stations and 25 private commercial stations, and the Game Commission operates 3 ship stations and 1 private commercial station.

Alberta.—The Forest Service, of the Department of Lands and Mines, operates 5 private commercial stations in connection with forest fire protection.

Saskatchewan.—The Department of Natural Resources operates 22 private commercial stations and 3 experimental stations in connection with forest fire protection services; the Saskatchewan Power Commission operates 2 private commercial stations and 12 commercial receiving stations (in service trucks, etc.) to provide emergency radio communication during power-line failures, etc.

Manitoba.—The Department of Mines and Natural Resources operates 2 private commercial stations and 1 aircraft station in connection with survey parties.

Ontario.—In northwestern Ontario, the Forestry Service operates 5 public commercial stations furnishing a point-to-point radiotelephone service, 4 public commercial stations furnishing a point-to-point radiotelegraph service, and 12 public commercial stations furnishing a ground-to-plane radiotelephone service to aviation companies operating in that area. In connection with forest fire protection services there are also 28 private commercial stations, 38 experimental stations, and 6 aircraft stations.

Subsection 3.--Privately Owned Commercial Stations.

From Table 1 it will be noted that there were 10 limited coast stations, 81 public commercial stations, and 489 private commercial stations in operation in the Dominion at Mar. 31, 1939. A public commercial station situated at Drummondville, Que., provides transoceanic radiotelegraph and radiotelephone services to Great Britain and Australia, and a radiotelephone service to Newfoundland. These stations are similar in one respect, in that they are owned and operated by private individuals or companies incorporated under the laws of the Dominion, or of one of the provinces.

The limited coast stations are, as a rule, privately owned and provide a ship-to-shore communication service with ships owned or operated by the licensees only. Two of such stations are, however, owned and operated by the Canadian